BOU Council

The BOU is managed by a Council of Trustees. Members are elected by the society membership at the Annual General Meeting. Trustees normally serve as

Council members for a period of four years.

NEW | Nominations process for Council and committees.
See here


President Prof Juliet Vickery, British Trust for Ornithology (elected 2019)
Vice President Prof Tony Fox, Aarhus University, Denmark (elected 2019)
Vice President Dr Richard Bradbury, RSPB (elected 2021)
Honorary Secretary Dr Helen Baker, JNCC (re-elected 2018)
Honorary Treasurer Mr Graham F. Appleton (re-elected 2021)

Ordinary Members of Council

Dr Sonya Clegg, University of Oxford (Chair, Grants Committee, elected 2020)
Dr Emma Cunningham, Edinburgh University (elected 2018)
Dr Francis Daunt, CEH Edinburgh (Chair, Meetings Committee, elected 2019)
Dr Mark Eaton, Rare Breeding Birds Panel (elected 2021)
Dr Tom Finch, RSPB Centre for Conservation Science (Chair, Engagement Committee; elected 2021)
Dr James Gilroy University of East Anglia (Chair, Records Committee, elected 2019)
Dr Rosemarie Kentie, University of Amsterdam & NIOZ Netherlands Institute for Sea Research (Chair, IBIS Management Committee; elected 2021)
Dr Julie Miller, University of Glasgow (Early Career Researcher representative; elected 2020)
Dr Rosie Trevalyan, Tropical Biology Association (elected 2019)
Dr Lucy Wright, RSPB (Chair, Awards Nominations Committee; elected 2021).

Elected members of Council are Trustees of the BOU.

Meet our Council members

Nominations for Council: currently closed.