BOU People

The BOU is a community of ornithologists which has been running for over 160 years.

As a not-for-profit charity, the BOU is reliant on its members to help plan and deliver much of what we do.

So, who are our members? Why did they join? And what do they do? Meet some of our great members, including some of the people behind the BOU and IBIS.

See also:
Members of Council
Members of BOU committees

Jose Alves thumbnailJosé Alves | Meetings Committee member

Graham Appleton photoGraham Appleton | Council member (Honorary Treasurer)

Tim BirkheadTim Birkhead | BOU member and former Council member

Andrew Bladon thumbnailAndrew Bladon | BOU member

Buchanan_250Graeme Buchanan | BOU member and former Council member

Bucknell_Neil_2Neil Bucknell | Vice President

Sarah Burthe | IBIS associate editor and former Engagement Committee member

Niall Burton photoNiall Burton | IBIS associate editor and Awards Nominations Committee member

Will Cresswell1 thumbnailWill Cresswell | BOU Council member

Daunt_thumbFrancis Daunt | Chair, Meetings Committee and member of Council

Paul Dolman thumbnailPaul Dolman | BOU member and former Chair of BOU Grants Committee

David DouglasDavid Douglas | BOU member and former Meetings Committee member

Colleen DownsColleen T. Downs | IBIS associate editor

Dudley picSteve Dudley | BOU Chief Operations Officer

Jenny Dunn thumbnailJenny Dunn | Engagement Committee and Equality & Diversity Working Group member

Evans_thumbDarren Evans | BOU member and former Chair of Meetings Committee and Council member

Tom Finch_resizeTom Finch | Engagement Committee member

Auriel Fournier photoAuriel M.V. Fournier |BOU member and former IBIS associate editor

Tony Fox photoTony Fox | Vice President and IBIS associate editor

Morten FrederiksenMorten Frederiksen | IBIS associate editor

Paul French thumbnailPaul French | Records Committee member

Jenny Gill | BOU member and former President

Gilroy, JamesJames Gilroy | Chair, Records Committee and member of Council

Andrew Harrop | Former Chair of Records Committee

Helm_thumbBarbara Helm | BOU member and former Council member

Shelley Hinsley thumbnailShelley Hinsley | BOU member and former Vice President

Andy Hoodless_resize thumbnailAndrew Hoodless | BOU member

Walker, LeilaChristina Ieronymidou | Blog Editor

Riddhika KalleRiddhika Kalle | IBIS associate editor

Kershaw, MelMel Kershaw | BOU member and former BOU Meetings Committee member

Daunt_thumbAngela Langford | Journal & Office Manager

Graham Martin_resize thumbnailGraham Martin | BOU member and former Vice President

McInerny_thumbChris McInerny | Records Committee Secretary

Veronica Mendez thumbnailVerónica Méndez | BOU member

Catriona Morrison thumbnailCatriona Morrison | Meetings Committee member and IBIS Associate Editor

NagerRuedi Nager | Editor, IBIS

NinaO'HanlonPic_thumbnailNina O’Hanlon | Engagement Committee Social Media Support Officer

Jeroen Reneerkens photo resizeJeroen Reneerkens | IBIS Associate Editor

Jim Reynolds photo 1Jim Reynolds | IBIS Associate Editor

Alice Risely thumbnailAlice Risely | BOU member

Rob Robinson photoRob Robinson | Meetings Committee member and IBIS Associate Editor

Staffan Roos thumbnailStaffan Roos | IBIS Associate Editor and IBIS Management Committee member

Eivin Røskaft photoEivin Røskaft | IBIS Associate Editor

Jen Smart_resizedJen Smart | Chair, IBIS Management Committee and member of Council

Jen Stockdale thumbnailJen Stockdale | BOU ECR member

Becky Thomas | BOU member

Andrew Tongue_resize thumbnailAndrew Tongue | BOU ECR member

Juliet Vickery | President and Chair of Equality and Diversity Working Group

Walker, LeilaLeila Walker | Equality & Diversity Working Group member

Wilson, JeremyJeremy Wilson | Editor, IBIS

Wright, HughHugh Wright | Chair, BOU Engagement Committee and member of Council