Jeremy Wilson, a member of the BOU’s Ibis editorial team, has been awarded the BTO’s Marsh Award for Ornithology for 2012.

Image of Jeremy WilsonProfessor Jeremy Wilson is head of research for RSPB Scotland and this award recognises Jeremy’s 30 years working in ornithology and bird conservation and his close connections working with the BTO, using BTO data in his research and promoting bird conservation based on sound science.
Learn more about the BTO

Jeremy obtained a PhD on social behaviour of Great Tits from the University of Edinburgh in 1989. After two further years at Edinburgh working on the dispersal of Dippers as a Royal 1851 Commission Research Fellow, he spent the next ten years working on many aspects of relationships between agriculture and bird populations at the British Trust for Ornithology, the University of Oxford and, since 1996, the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds. In 2001, Jeremy became Head of Research for RSPB Scotland, and now leads a research team with interests in bird conservation issues across the uplands, lowland agricultural systems, forestry and native woodlands, and the marine environment. He has published over 80 scientific papers, plus numerous contributions to conference proceedings, books and research reports. He has been an Ibis Editor since 2006, and has held an Honorary Chair in Biological and Environmental Sciences at the University of Stirling since 2009.

Jeremy was presented with his award by former BOU President Ian Newton (Chairman of BTO Council) and Jo Winyard (Marsh Christian Trust) at the BTO’a Awards evening at the Society of Wildlife Artists’ (SWLA) The Natural Eye exhibition at the Mall Galleries in London.

Other award recipients were:

  • The Dilys Breese Medal was presented by BTO President Dame Barbara Young to Sheena Harvey (former editor of Bird Watching) for her role in promoting the BTO throughout the wider birdwatching community.
  • The BTO Marsh Local Ornithology Award was presented to Chris Dee and the Hertfordshire Bird Club (Chairman of which is BOU Honorary Secretary Ken Smith) by Ian Newton and Jo Winyard (Marsh Christian Trust) for their online atlas project.
  • The new Marsh Award for Innovative Ornithology was awarded to the BTO’s Cuckoo Team for their ground-breaking Cuckoo satellite tracking project which so many continue to follow online.

Read more about the BTO awards evening on the BTO website

Read Mark Avery’s interview with Jeremy on the BTO award evening.

Jeremy is the fourth person connected with the BOU to be recognised by the BTO and Marsh Christian Trust in recent years.

  • 2011 Ibis Editor in Chief, Paul Donald, was awarded the Marsh Award for Conservation Biology, Ian Hartley (former Chairman of the BOU’s Ibis Management Committee) awarded the Marsh Award for Ornithology
  • 2010 BOU President Jenny Gill awarded the Marsh Award for Ornithology with.

The SWLA’s The Natural Eye exhibition runs from 1-11 November.

More details . . .